jump to navigation

Not One, Not Two, Not Three, But FOUR Posts For The Price Of One (Plus two polls!) Tuesday October 21st, 2008

Posted by Sean in Los Angeles Dodgers, Major Leagues, Milwaukee Brewers, Phillies, Predictions, Tampa Bay Rays.
trackback

POST ONE: Today is a holiday

First, it’s the 28th anniversary of the last time time the Phillies won a Championship (1980, for those who can’t do math), but more importantly, it’s my birthday (Happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me…). This is the second World Series in my lifetime, but only the first that I remember. Hopefully, this one will end better…

POST TWO: J.D. Durbin has Been Released

WOOHOO!!! I hate this guy. I’ve seen him several times this year at both AAA Lehigh Valley, and AA Reading. He S-U-C-K-E-D. The first start that I saw him (one of his first starts), he gave up 6 runs in a third of an inning. Yes, that gives him an ERA of 18.00 for JUST THE ONE START! C’MON! I can do better!!

POST THREE: Pessimists Never Win

Since the beginning of the season, I said that the Philllies wouldn’t make the playoffs. I knew they’d be good, but I didn’t see them as a serious playoff threat, and that 2007 was a fluke. I felt this all the way through the year, even though the team proved me so very, very, very wrong so many, many, many times. Even when they were a lock for the playoffs, I kept saying they wouldn’t make it. And I held on to this. Until they made it. Then what did I do? I played the pessimist card again. I said that I would be surprised if they could win one game against the power-heavy Brewers. How wrong I was. They then made it in 4, and what did I say this time? Manny and the Dodgers were gonna take the Phillies in 5 or 6, and lose to the Sox in the WS. That’s so wrong, it’s laughable. but now what am I doing? I’m jumping back on the Phillies bandwagon and saying Phillies in 7!! Although, following my current trends (NERD), I probably shouldn’t predict stuff. I’m 0-life in this postseason. Ahh, the heck with it. GO PHILLIES!!

POST FOUR: Why The World Series Has Convinced Me To Vote (if i could) For Obama

Throughout this whole “political season”, I couldn’t decide who to vote for. I generally didn’t agree with McCain (and I REALLY don’t like Palin), but I didn’t think Obama had enough experience. He’s too young, and hasn’t been in the Senate for too long (I believe). I thought the same thing of the Devil Rays this fall when they made the playoffs. What have they done? They advanced past two pairs of Sox (baaaad pun), and are in their first ever World Series. They have a serious chance of winning the championship, despite all the inexperience up and down the roster. If the Rays can make the World Series, why can’t Obama win? Forget what Curt Schilling or anyone else tells you, Obama is the way to go.

Comments»

1. Raffi - Tuesday October 21st, 2008

I vote for Victorino as Predident

2. Reed - Wednesday October 22nd, 2008

I think it is stupid of you to decide who you are voting for based on a sports game.
Also you are being fascist about the phillies


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

